Arts and Humanities Division Meeting 12:30, 1C3 AH, May 3, 2005

The following faculty were present:

Mary Beth McCauley Susan VanSchuyver David Archer Stephen Morrow

Dianne Broyles Rochelle Mosby (covering office)

Patricia Brooks Warren Neal Rachel Butler Clay Randolph Linda Robinett David Charlson Richard Rouillard Ruth Charnay Michael Franco Michael Punches Carolyn Farris Mary Punches Abbie Figueroa Mark Schneberger

Gwin Faulconer-Lippert Ron Staton (not present)

Carlotta Hill Pamela Stout Sue Hinton (Not present) Alice Tillinghast Sheri Hobbs Mary Turner Kim Jameson Bertha Wise

Fritz Kiersch Jon Inglett

Cc: Dr. Paul Sechrist Mary Ann Moore Lyn McDonald Dr. Brenda Harrison

1. Committee Reports –

Faculty Association – **Michael Franco** reported that at the April 26 Faculty Association Meeting, the following occurred:

Jane Carney will be Chair for 2005-2006 Michael Franco will be Chair Elect for 2005-2006

Dr. James Riha, the Chief Technology Officer, came to meet the Association. He has currently been in his position for about a month, and says he is currently assessing the school's technology to see how he can improve technology. He stated that he plans to be proactive, as opposed to reactive, when confronting technology problems.

The AH Division will need a new representative on the Faculty Association Executive Committee, as Michael Franco will be vacating his position to serve as Chair Elect. Marybeth McCauley will serve as the new AH rep.

Faculty Development – Abbie Figueroa reported that the last meeting, they did housekeeping. They chose a new chair for next year--Sue Tabor, Professor of Child Development. And they named Carlotte Mulvihill to be the committee's representative on the college-wide committee which will begin next year to develop a policy for the college regarding sabbaticals.

IAPC – **Clay Randolph** - Dr. Sechrist presented the committee's proposed statement for Procedure 4016 to the advisory committee; further response from is expected next month but prognosis looks good.

During the May meeting, the committee will consider Professor Rick Vollmer's presentation on OKCCC's instructional delivery system.

A new chair will be elected in May. Clay Randolph is going off rotation and Jon Inglett will be the new AH representative for IAPC.

Retention Committee – Mark Schneberger – The Student Retention Committee, along with the Retention Task Force joined forces with roughly 30 faculty, staff and administrators Thursday and Friday (April 28 and 29) in the next major step of developing the OKCCC Retention Plan. With the Assistance of the Noel-Levitz group, the plan currently has three goals

- 1) Increase the Oklahoma City Community College internal retention (fall-to-fall) rate of first-time, full-time, degree-seeking students by three percentage points using the Fall 2004 cohort as the baseline year for comparison.
- 2) Increase the course success rate of students taking developmental math by two percentage points as compared to the Fall 2005 rates (Measure in fall 2006).
- 3) Increase the Fall cohort three-year graduation rate by 10 percent over the Fall 2002 cohort.

There have been roughly 17 strategies identified to meet these goals. These strategies will be pared down and prioritized during the next two weeks as the Retention Committee and Task Force prepare the plan for delivery to the President's Cabinet.

2. Susan handed out Above and Beyond Awards to the following faculty:

Kim Jameson, English Search Committee Warren Neal, English Search Committee Chair Marybeth McCauley, English Search Committee Dianne Broyles, Visual Arts Search Committee Chair Mary Ann Moore, Visual Arts Search Committee
Bertha Wise, Visual Arts Search Committee
Lyn McDonald, Visual Arts Search Committee
Rachel butler, Support of the AH Program Reviews
Anita Williams, Outstanding Service on the English Search Committee
Gary Dominguez, Outstanding Service on the Art Search Committee
Pamela Stout, Writing Symposium Chairperson
Linda Robinett, Communications Department Chairperson
Richard Rouillard, Multi-Divisional Programs Director
Mary Ann Moore, Final Approval for the Centennial Mosaic Project
Carolyn Farris, Final Approval for the Centennial Mosaic Project
Ron Staton, Highly Successful Music Contest
Dave Archer, Highly Successful Music Contest
Joyce Mauldin, Highly Successful Music Contest

3. Celebrations!

Carolyn Farris and Alice Tillinghast are retiring.

Division Meeting adjourned at 1:20 PM